From Cunnan
Jump to navigationJump to search

Wessex, named after the West Saxons, was one of the seven Anglo-Saxon kingdoms. It existed between the 6th and 9th centuries, after which it was incorporated into England. According to the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle it was founded by Cerdic and Cynric.

The Heptarchy
East Anglia | Essex | Kent | Mercia | Northumbria | Sussex | Wessex