From Cunnan
Jump to navigationJump to search

Kent is the most south-easterly county in England, south of the river Thames and east of Sussex.

Its name originates from the Celtic tribe, the Cantiaci, who were living there when Julius Caesar invaded in 43BC. Later, by the 6th century, when the Romans had retreated from Britain, the people there were the Cantwara, the "people of Kent".

The Jutes sub-divided Kent into 7 lathes; otherwise the county was traditionally divided at Gillingham, into an Eastern and a Western half.

Historically Kent is "famous", as holding Canterbury, site of the cathedral of the senior of the two English archbishops, Dover Castle, the "gatehouse of England", and the castle of Rochester, which controlled the road to London, and was beseiged and taken by King John during the 1215 rebellion.

The Heptarchy
East Anglia | Essex | Kent | Mercia | Northumbria | Sussex | Wessex