From Cunnan
Jump to navigationJump to search

The Mabinogion is the name generally given to a collection of eleven tales. It is preserved in two medieval Welsh manuscripts, the White Book of Rhydderch (ca. 1300-1325) and the Red Book of Hergest (ca. 1375-1425). Fragments of these tales are found in 13th century manuscripts, but they are believed to be even older.

Eleven stories are classified as being part of being the Maginogion, based on the original English translation by the 19th century Lady Charlotte Guest.

Stories Contained

The Four Branches

  • Pwyll, son of Dyved
  • Branwen, daughter of Llyr
  • Manawyddan, son of Llyr
  • Math, son of Mathonwy

The Welsh Tales

  • Culhwch and Olwen
  • The dream of Rhonabwy
  • The dream of Macsen Wledig
  • Lludd and Llefelys

Arthurian Tales

  • Owain, or The lady of the Fountain
  • Peredur, son of Efrawc
  • Geraint, son of Erbin

External Links