From Cunnan
(Redirected from Realm)
Jump to navigationJump to search

A Kingdom is a geographical region ruled by a King and/or a Queen.

Kingdoms in the SCA

The Known World in the SCA is divided into kingdoms, each of which has their own subset of laws and customs. Every SCA branch lies within a specific kingdom. Kingdoms can cross mundane state, provincial and national borders.

The West was established as the first SCA kingdom in 1966 (though it does not seem to have been clearly identified as a kingdom until early in 1967). The date of the first event (1st May, 1966) is reckoned to be the date the SCA started, and the term Anno Societatis was coined to create a SCA-specific calendar. For instance, March 2004 was in A.S. XXXVIII, and 1st May 2004 was the start of A.S. XXXIX.

The Sovereign Kingdoms of the Society for Creative Anachronism

  1. Kingdom of the West - May 1, A.S. I (1966)
  2. Kingdom of East - June, A.S. III (1968)
  3. Kingdom of Middle - September, A.S. IV (1969)
  4. Kingdom of Atenveldt - January, A.S. V (1971)
  5. Kingdom of Meridies - January, A.S. XII (1978)
  6. Kingdom of Caid - June, A.S. XIII (1978)
  7. Kingdom of Ansteorra - June, A.S. XIV (1979)
  8. Kingdom of Atlantia - May, A.S. XVI (1981)
  9. Kingdom of An Tir - January, A.S. XVI (1982)
  10. Kingdom of Calontir - February, A.S. XVIII (1984)
  11. Kingdom of Trimaris - September A.S. XX (1985)
  12. Kingdom of Outlands - June, A.S. XXI (1986)
  13. Kingdom of Drachenwald - June, A.S. XXVIII (1993)
  14. Kingdom of Artemisia - July, A.S. XXXII (1997)
  15. Kingdom of Æthelmearc - September, A.S. XXXII (1997)
  16. Kingdom of Ealdormere - October, A.S. XXXIII (1998)
  17. Kingdom of Lochac - July A.S. XXXVII (2002)
  18. Kingdom of Northshield - October A.S. XXXIX (2004)
  19. Kingdom of Gleann Abhann - November A.S. XL (2005)
  20. Kingdom of Avacal June A.S. L (2015)

External Links