From Cunnan
Revision as of 20:19, 27 May 2006 by User 144 (talk | contribs) (categorising)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigationJump to search

Britain is the kingdom that includes most of the islands in the British Isles. It is currently called the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and includes England, Scotland and Wales. It does not include the Isle of Man or the Channel Islands (which are private feudal possessions of the English Crown) and cannot be used as a term for only England.

The name dates back to the Roman occupation of Great Britain, which used the name Brittania for the area they controlled.

In the SCA, Britain is part of Insulae Draconis in the Kingdom of Drachenwald.